Contact

E-Mail:
scholger(at)unileoben.ac.at

Tel: ++43 (0)3842 402-2640

Address

Montanuniversitaet Leoben
Palaeomagnetiklabor Gams
Gams 45
A - 8130 Frohnleiten
AUSTRIA

Paleomagnetic Laboratory Gams

symbol

With the Paleomagnetic Laboratory Gams/Frohnleiten, the Montanuniversität has possessed a research facility with a broad orientation which is unique in Austria and recognised in the international scientific field since 1977. The Paleomagnetic Laboratory is the basis for independent research activity and interdisciplinary cooperations on numerous geoscientific questions.


Persons

Robert Scholger (Laboratory manager): Prospection, Geodynamics, Magnetic stratigraphy, Environmental magnetism, Fabric analysis

Elisabeth Schnepp: Archaeomagnetism, Magnetic stratigraphy

Hermann J. Mauritsch (Univ. Prof. i.R.)

Franz Pusterwallner: Technician

former team members


Guest scientists (recent)

Roman Leonhardt (2011-, ZAMG, Vienna): Geo&Paleomagnetism
Elina Aidona (2007-, Univ. Thessaloniki): Archaeomagnetism
Fritz Popp (2005-, Univ. Vienna): Magnetic stratigraphy

former guest scientists


Research areas

Geodynamics & Tectonics

  • NCA
  • ALCAPA Region
  • Pyrenees

Magnetic stratigraphy

  • Permian/Triassic- & Cretaceous/Palaeogene-boundary
  • Tertiary in Austria
  • Quarternary in the Alpine area

Archaeomagnetism

  • Saecular variation
  • Archaeomagnetic dating

Magnetic Prospection

  • Archaeometry
  • Mineral deposits

Fabric analysis

  • Magnetic fabric analysis of weakly deformed rocks (AMS & Strain)

Environmental magnetism

  • Magnetic indicators for heavy metals in soils and sediment

Equipment

Magnetometer

Demagnetisation

High field devices

Susceptibility

Standard equipment for paleomagnetic sampling and sample preparation


Review of the development of the laboratory Gams

The development of the paleomagnetic research facility in Leoben goes back to the suggestion of Univ. Prof. Dr. Walter E. Petrascheck. During a “Symposium on Continental Drift” in London (1965), Prof. Dr. Runcorn from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne reported on the newest research results of the young research area of palaeomagnetics. Results from North America (Runcorn &Irving, 1956), India (Klegg, 1956), Australia (Irving & Green, 1958), South America (Creer, 1958), Africa (Creer, 1958) and Japan (Nagata, 1959) proved the high mobility of the continents in their geological development. These results agreed to a large degree with transcontinental models which W.E. Petrascheck was developing with the comparison of ore deposit genetic findings.

 Together with Univ. Prof. Dr. Franz Weber, ordinary of the Department for Petroleum Geology and Applied Geophysics, a dissertation with the title “Palaeomagnetic examinations of Styrian basalts with special consideration of magnetic purification and construction of an alternating magnetic field demagnetisation machine” was offered in 1967. H.J. Mauritsch, the author of this review, was entrusted with this topic.

Due to the many disruptions, the small laboratory, which during this dissertation was housed in the old Peter-Tunner building in Leoben, proved to be unsuitable for the city area. Based on experiences abroad, a long-term suitable object was sought and found in the old school in Gams/Frohnleiten. Little traffic, a distance of more than 3 km from the railway line as well as a stable grid, data line and water supply offered almost ideal conditions for highly sensitive magnetic field measurements. Since the municipality immediately agreed to the further use as a laboratory, Prof. Weber applied for a grant for the expansion of the laboratory to the Styrian government (22.3. 1976). Permission was granted on 20.04.1976.

Due to the huge support by the head of the bursary, office director Wasle, and the whole department and project staff, the expansion could be carried out swiftly. On 2.05.1977, the laboratory was officially inaugurated by the president of the Styrian parliament, Prof. Dr. Hans Koren, in presence of rector Prof. Dr. A. Oberhofer and Prof. Dr. F. Steinhauser from the Austrian Academy of Sciences, mayor A. Dulzky, landlord Dipl.-Ing. Goess-Saurau, president of the state office Dr. Tropper as well as federal councillor Ms. Heinz. The rooms and instrumentation were successively adapted and expanded. With the signing of the sale contract between the municipality and the Republic of Austria in 1991, the Laboratory Gams and the corresponding ground area became an integral part of the Montanuniversität Leoben.

The expansion of equipment was virtually exclusively carried out with investment funds from research projects at the Austrian Science Fund (FWF), the Jubilee Fond of the Austrian National Bank (JF), the International Correlation Programme (IGCP) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences as well as projects of the European Union. Especially the successful participation in four 3-4-year research areas enabled the quick expansion and establishment of the laboratory in the European research landscape. Numerous individual projects completed the research areas as well as the equipment modifications. The standard of the laboratory absolutely meets international standard and constitutes an important node in the European Network, as documented by the regular stays of visiting researchers from abroad. Matters of geodynamics, mineral magnetics and magnetostratigraphy, the history of the geomagnetic field and archaeomagnetics as well as environmental magnetics are the main fields of research. The laboratory was headed by Prof. Dr. H.J. Mauritsch until 2001 and since then by Prof. Dr. R. Scholger. The fields of archaeomagnetics and history of the geomagnetic field are supervised by Ms. PD. Dr. E. Schnepp. 


Top

Kontakt

E-Mail:
scholger(at)unileoben.ac.at

Tel: ++43 (0)3842 402-2640   

Postadresse:

Montanuniversität
Paläomagnetiklabor Gams
Gams 45
A - 8130 Frohnleiten


Paläomagnetiklabor Gams

Bohrkerne

Die Montanuniversität verfügt mit dem Paläomagnetiklabor in Gams bei Frohnleiten seit 1977 über eine in Österreich unikale, im internationalen wissenschaftlichen Umfeld anerkannte Forschungseinrichtung mit breiter Ausrichtung. Das Paläomagnetiklabor ist die Grundlage für eigene Forschungstätigkeit und interdisziplinäre Kooperationen bei zahlreichen geowissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen.


Personen

Robert Scholger (Laborleiter): Prospektion, Geodynamik, Magnetostratigraphie, Umweltmagnetik, Gefügeanalyse

Elisabeth Schnepp: Archäomagnetik, Magnetostratigraphie

Hermann J. Mauritsch (Univ. Prof. i.R.)

Franz Pusterwallner: Technik

frühere Mitarbeiter/innen


Gastforscher/innen (aktuell)

Roman Leonhardt - Säkularvariation (2011-, ZAMG, Wien)
Elina Aidona - Archäomagnetik (2007-, Univ. Thessaloniki)
Fritz Popp - Magnetostratigraphie (2005-, Univ. Wien)

frühere Gastforscher/innen


Forschungsprojekte

Geodynamik & Tektonik

  • Nördliche Kalkalpen
  • ALCAPA Region
  • Pyrenäen

Magnetostratigraphie

  • Perm/Trias- & Kreide/Paläogen-Grenze
  • Tertiär in Österreich
  • Quartär im Alpenraum

Archäomagnetik

  • Säkularvariation
  • Archäomagnetische Datierung

Magnetische Prospektion

  • Archäometrie
  • Lagerstättenforschung

Gefügeanalyse

  • Magnetische Gefügeanalyse von geringfügig deformierten Gesteinen (AMS & Strain)

Umweltforschung

  • Magnetische Indikatoren für Schwermetallgehalte in Böden und Sedimenten

Geräte und Infrastruktur

Magnetometer

Abmagnetisierung

Hochfeldanlagen

Suszeptibilität

Standardausrüstung für paläomagnetische Probennahme und Aufbereitung


Rückblick auf die Entwicklung des Labors Gams

Der Aufbau der paläomagnetischen Forschungsrichtung in Leoben geht auf eine Anregung von Univ. Prof. Dr. Walter E. Petrascheck zurück. Bei einem „Symposium on Continental Drift“ in London (1965) berichtete Prof. Dr. Runcorn von der Universität Newcastle upon Tyne über neueste Forschungsergebnisse der jungen Forschungsrichtung Paläomagnetik. Ergebnisse aus Nordamerika (Runcorn & Irving, 1956), Indien (Klegg, 1956), Australien (Irving & Green, 1958), Südamerika (Creer, 1958), Afrika (Creer, 1958) und Japan (Nagata, 1959) bewiesen die hohe Mobilität der Kontinente in ihrer geologischen Entwicklung. Diese Ergebnisse waren in guter Übereinstimmung mit kontinentübergreifenden Modellen, die W.E. Petrascheck mit dem Vergleich lagerstättengenetischer Befunde verfolgte.

Zusammen mit Univ. Prof. Dr. Franz Weber, Ordinarius des Institutes für Erdölgeologie und Angewandte Geophysik, wurde 1967 eine Dissertation mit dem Titel „Paläomagnetische Untersuchungen an steirischen Basalten mit besonderer Berücksichtigung der magnetischen Reinigung und Konstruktion einer Wechselfeld–Abmagnetisierungsanlage“ vergeben. Mit diesem Thema wurde H.J. Mauritsch, der Verfasser dieses Rückblickes, betraut.

Das kleine Labor, das im Zuge der Dissertation im alten Peter Tunner Gebäude in Leoben untergebracht war, erwies sich wegen der vielen Störungen im Stadtbereich als ungeeignet. Basierend auf den Erfahrungen im Ausland wurde ein langfristig geeignetes Objekt gesucht und mit der alten Schule in Gams bei Frohnleiten gefunden. Wenig Verkehr, ein Abstand von mehr als 3 km von der Eisenbahnlinie sowie stabiles Netz, Datenleitung und Wasserversorgung boten nahezu ideale Voraussetzungen für hochempfindliche Magnetfeldmessungen. Da die Gemeinde der Weiternutzung als Labor sofort zustimmte, stellte Prof. Weber den Antrag für eine Subvention zum Ausbau des Labors an die Steiermärkische Landesregierung (22.03.1976). Am 20.04.1976 erfolgte die Genehmigung.

Mit großer Unterstützung durch den Leiter der Quästur, Amtsdirektor Wasle und aller Instituts- und Projektmitarbeiter konnte der Ausbau zügig ausgeführt werden. Am 2.05.1977 wurde das Labor offiziell durch den Präsidenten des Stmk. Landtages Prof. Dr. Hans Koren in Anwesenheit des Rektors Prof. Dr. A. Oberhofer und Prof. Dr. F. Steinhauser von der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, des Bürgermeisters A. Dulzky, des Grundbesitzers Dipl.-Ing. Goess-Saurau, des Landesamtspräsidenten Dr. Tropper sowie Frau Bundesrat Heinz eröffnet. Sukzessiv wurden die Räume und die Instrumentierung adaptiert und erweitert. 1991 wurde mit der Unterzeichnung des Kaufvertrages zwischen der Gemeinde und der Republik Österreich das Labor Gams mit den dazugehörigen Grundflächen integraler Bestand der Montanuniversität Leoben.

Der instrumentelle Ausbau erfolgte nahezu ausschließlich aus Investitionsmitteln von Forschungsprojekten beim Fonds zur Förderung der Wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF), dem Jubiläumsfonds der Österreichischen Nationalbank (JF), dem Internationalen Korrelationsprogramm (IGCP) der Österr. Akademie der Wissenschaften, sowie Projekten der Europäischen Union. Vor allem die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an vier 3-4 jährigen Forschungsschwerpunkten des FWF ermöglichte den raschen Ausbau und die Etablierung des Labors in der europäischen Forschungslandschaft. Zahlreiche Einzelprojekte rundeten sowohl die Forschungsgebiete als auch die Gerätemodifikationen ab. Der Standard des Labors entspricht absolut dem internationalen Stand und stellt einen wichtigen Knoten im Europäischen Netzwerk dar, was durch den regelmäßigen Aufenthalt ausländischer Gastforscher belegt wird. Fragen der Geodynamik, Mineralmagnetik und Magnetostratigraphie, Geschichte des Erdmagnetfeldes und Archäomagnetik sowie Umweltmagnetik sind die wesentlichen Forschungsgebiete. Das Labor wurde bis 2001 von Prof. Dr.  H.J. Mauritsch geleitet und seither von Prof. Dr. R. Scholger. Der Bereich Archäomagnetik und Geschichte des Erdmagnetfeldes wird von Frau PD Dr. E. Schnepp betreut.