Archaeomagnetism

Secular variation of the geomagnetic field during the last millennia 

The secular variation of the geomagnetic field is recorded in young rocks and heated archaeological structures. Palaeomagnetic measurements on such material enable us to collect the secular variation for the past with a time resolution in the range of decades. Using this data, the description of the geomagnetic field can be continued for the last millennia using spherical harmonic expansion which was obtained from historical data of the past 400 years.

Time series of the secular variation contribute to a better geophysical understanding of the geomagnetic field; at the same time they can be used for dating young rocks and archaeological findings.


FWF Logo

The variation of archaeomagnetic intensity since 1500 BC
FWF Project P223295 (2011-2014)

A sufficiently dense data base of secular variation is essential for models of the geomagnetic field, not only concerning the direction but in particular for the archaeointensity. While Western, Central and Southern Europe are covered quite well with archaeodirections for the past 2000 years, the number of intensities is rather low and they show a wide dispersion.  So far, only the data for the past 700 years is dense and precise enough. The main aim of the project is to carry out measurements of archaeointensity at find spots with known archaeodirections. We hereby hope to increase the data set of archaeomagnetic total vectors of Central Europe for the past 3500 years from one or two values per century to approximately five values per century.

We intend to reach this aim by using a new palaeointensity method, which will initially be tested. The desired large data set of archaeomagnetic total vectors will provide the data base for an improved model of the geomagnetic field for the past 3500 years.

During this time interval, five archaeomagnetic jerks occurred which are defined by the rapid changes in the movement of the direction vector. Between 800 and 500 BC, a strong increase in archaeointensity correlates with a more humid and colder climate in Central Europe. This also applies to the increased archaeointensities around 800 AD. An increased 14C-production leading to plateaus in the 14C-calibration curve can be observed in both time intervals. This supports correlations between the geomagnetic field and processes in the atmosphere which regulate the radio nuclide production or cloud formation. The project will provide a significantly improved data base for the respective global geomagnetic field models, leading to a better understanding of the correlation between geomagnetic field, 14C-production and climate.


FWF Logo

The archaeomagnetic total vector field in Central Europe
FWF Project P19370-N19 (2006-2010) 

The main goal of this project was to test the hypothesis of a possible relation between the behaviour of the geomagnetic field and changes in climate. French collegues argue that during the last 3000 years, the curve of the secular variation (changes in the direction and intensity of the field on time scales from decades to centuries) shows relatively rapid changes in the movement (spikes) of the field direction. Based on individual intensity data from France and Syria, four of the spikes seem to correlate with maximum intensities of the geomagnetic field. This phenomenon is referred to as ‘archaeomagnetic jerk’ and a correlation with advances of the Alpine glaciers has been assumed. Mechanisms for possible correlations between geomagnetic field and climate are discussed very controversially.

Poster Archaeomagnetism (Schnepp, 2008)

In the framework of this project, we were able to show through the examination of the whole data set of the archaeomagnetic directions that five spikes in the secular variation curves occur simultaneously across Europe in time windows of one century each. We then recorded a set of archaeomagnetic total vectors from archaeological find spots in Austria, Germany and Eastern France. This data set covers the past 3500 years, with at least one intensity and directional value (gained from the same archaeological structure) per century. It also contains structures which recorded the spikes in secular variation. Even though strong changes in archaeointensity occur within the last 3500 years, no correlation can be seen between high intensities and spikes in the direction curve, except for the 8th century AD. On the contrary abnormally low intensities were measured for the spike occurring in the 8th century AD. Actually only two very distinctive intensity maxima occur during the 5th century BC and 8th century AD. The strong increase between 800 and 500 BC correlates with increasing rainfall and a colder climate throughout Europe, and the same applies to the intensity maximum occurring at around 800 AD. In both time intervals a decrease in radiocarbon production rate, which leads to long plateaus in the radiocarbon calibration curve, has also been recorded. Consequently the established correlation between geomagnetic field and radionuclide formation could also play a role in the processes of cloud formation in the upper atmosphere. However, a larger data base is necessary for improved models of the geomagnetic field. An additional result of the project is a secular variation curve which expands the time frame for archaeomagnetic dating in Central Europe to 3500 years and provides a new dating tool for prehistory which helps to solve the problems of the radiocarbon plateaus for the late Bronze and pre-Roman Iron Age.


FWF Logo

Establishing archaeomagnetic dating in Austria
FWF Project M787-N11 (2004 – 2006)

The main goal of the project was to build up a data base for an archaeomagnetic secular variation curve of Austria covering the past 4000 years and to also collect intensity values for this time interval.

Using the archaeomagnetic calibration curve for Austria created in this project archaeomagnetic datings within the last 2300 years can be performed. This method for the dating of in situ findings like furnaces or ovens is now available to archaeology.


AARCH Logo

AARCH: Archaeomagnetic Applications for the Rescue of Cultural Heritage (2003 - 2006)

Research network within the framework of the EU mobility programme for young researchers

Partners:

  • Department of Archaeological Sciences, University of Bradford (GB)
  • Centre De Physique Du Globe De L'IRM, Dourbes (Belgium)
  • Geophysical Institute, Sofia, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences (Bulgaria)
  • Department of Earth Sciences, Geophysical Laboratory, University of Aarhus (Denmark)
  • Laboratoire D'archeomagnetisme, Centre National De La Recherche Scientifique, Rennes (F)
  • Department of Geophysics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)
  • Facultad De Cc.Fisicas, Universidad Complutense De Madrid (Spain)
  • Geomagnetism Laboratory, University of Liverpool (GB)
  • Department of Geological Sciences, University of Plymouth (GB)
  • Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Universitá degli Studi di Torino (I)
  • Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Universitá degli Studi di Napoli (I)

Link to Project-Website (Institut Royal Météorologique, Dourbes, Be)


Publications

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P., Hervé, G., Scholger, R., Mauritsch, H., Rolf, C. (in prep.) New archaeomagnetic data from Austria and G ermany 

Brüggler, M., Rehren, T., Schnepp, E., Hartkopf-Fröder, C. (in prep.)  A Late-Roman Glass Workshop near Goch-Asperden, Rhineland/Germany – Features and Analyses. 

Rolf, C., Hambach, U., Novothny, A., Horváth, E. & Schnepp, E. (2013): Dating of a Last Glacial loess sequence by relative geomagnetic palaeointensity: A case study from the Middle Danube Basin (Sütto, Hungary).
Quaternary International (in press)

Schnepp, E., (2011): Archäo-, Paläo- und Umweltmagnetik. In: Hans-Rudolf Bork/Harald Meller/Renate Gerlach, Umweltarchäologie - Naturkatastrophen und Umweltwandel im archäologischen Befund. 3. Mitteldeutscher Archäologentag vom 07. bis 09. Oktober 2010 in Halle (Saale). Tagungen des Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte Halle, 6, Landesamt für Denkmalpflege und Archäologie Sachsen-Anhalt , Halle (Saale), 57-69. 

Hervé, G., Schnepp, E., Chauvin, A., Lanos, P., Nowaczyk, N. (2011): Archeomagnetic results on three First Iron Age salt-kilns from Moyenvic (France).
Geophysical Journal International, 185, 144–156

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P., Chauvin, A. (2009): Geomagnetic paleointensity between 1300 and 1750 A.D. derived from a bread oven floor sequence in Lübeck, Germany.
Geochemistry Geophysics Geosystems, 10, p. Q08003 (open access)

Aidona, E., Scholger, R., Mauritsch, H.J., Perraki, M. (2008): Remanence aquisition in a Roman-style gold furnace. 
Phys. Chem. Earth, 33, 438-448

Hambach, U., Rolf, C., Schnepp, E. (2008): Magnetic Dating of Quaternary Sediments, volcanites and archaeological Materials: an overview. 
Eiszeitalter und Gegenwart (Quaternary Science Journal), 57, 25-51
 

Singer, B.S., Hoffman, K.A., Schnepp, E., Guillou H. (2008): Multiple Brunhes Chron Excursions Recorded in the West Eifel (Germany) Volcanics: Support for Long-Held Mantle Control Over the Non-Axial Dipole Field.
Phys.  Earth Planet. Int., 169, 28-40 .

Trapanese A.,  Batt C. M., Schnepp E. (2008): Sampling and orientation methods in archaeomagnetic dating: a comparison using case studies from Wörterberg, Eisenerz   and Gams Valley (Austria).
Phys.  Chem. Earth, 33, 414-426  

Schnepp, E., Worm, K. and Scholger, R. (2008): Improved sampling techniques for baked clay and soft sediments.
Phys. Chem. Earth, 33, 407-413
 

Schnepp, E. (2007): Archäomagnetische Datierung in Deutschland und Österreich.
Archäologisches Korrespondenzblatt, 37, 2, 313-320 

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P. (2006) A preliminary secular variation reference curve for archaeomagnetic dating in Austria.
Geophys.  J. Int., 166, 91–96  

Aidona, E., Scholger, R., Mauritsch, H. J., Schnepp E., Klemm, S. (2006): Spatial distribution of archaeomagnetic vectors within archaeological samples from Eisenerz (Austria).
Geophys.  J. Int. 166, 46–58  

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P. (2005): Archaeomagnetic secular variation in Germany during the past 2500 years.
Geophys.   J. Int, 163, 479–490  

Lanos, P., Le Goff, M., Kovacheva, M., Schnepp, E. (2005): Hierarchical modelling of archaeomagnetic data and curve estimation by moving average technique.
Geophys.   J. Int., 160, 440-476  

Korte, M., Genevey, A., Constable, C., Frank, U., Schnepp E. (2005): Continuous geomagnetic field models for the past 7 millennia I: A new global data compilation.
Geochem. Geophys. Geosyst., 6(2): 1-32, Q02H15 

Schnepp, E., Pucher, R., Reinders, J., Hambach, U., Soffel, H.C. und Hedley, I. (2004): A German catalogue of archaeomagnetic data.
Geophys.   J. Int., 157, 64-78  

Schnepp, E., Pucher R., Goedicke, C., Manzano, A., Müller, U., Lanos, P. (2003): Paleomagnetic directions and TL dating from a bread oven-floor sequence in Lübeck (Germany): A record of 450 years of geomagnetic secular variation.
J. Geophys.  Res., 108, B2, 2078


Top

Archäomagnetik

Die Säkularvariation des Erdmagnetfeldes der letzten Jahrtausende

Die Säkularvariation des Erdmagnetfeldes wird in jungen Gesteinen und geheizten archäologischen Strukturen aufgezeichnet. Paläomagnetische Messungen an solchen Materialien erlauben die Säkularvariation mit einer Zeitauflösung im Bereich von Jahrzehnten für die Vergangenheit zu erfassen. Hiermit kann die Beschreibung des Erdmagnetfeldes mit Kugelfunktionsmodellen, die aus historischen Daten der vergangenen 400 Jahre gewonnen wurde, für die letzten Jahrtausende fortgesetzt werden.

Zeitreihen der Säkularvariation tragen einerseits zu einem besseren, geophysikalischen Verständnis des Erdmagnetfeldes bei; andererseits können sie für die Datierung von jungen Gesteinen und archäologischen Befunden genutzt werden.


FWF Logo

Die Variation der archäomagnetischen Intensität seit 1500 v. Chr.
FWF Projekt P223295 (2011 – 2014)

Unentbehrlich für Modellierungen des Erdmagnetfeldes ist eine genügend dichte Datenbasis der Säkularvariation, nicht nur für die Richtung, sondern insbesondere auch für die Archäointensität. Während West-, Mittel- und Südeuropa für die letzten 2000 Jahre gut mit Archäorichtungen abgedeckt sind, ist der Anteil an Intensitäten eher gering und sie zeigen eine große Streuung. Genügend dicht und präzise sind bisher nur die Daten für die vergangenen 700 Jahre. Hauptziel des Projekts ist, an Fundstellen, für die Archäorichtungen bekannt sind, Messungen der Archäointensität durchzuführen. Hiermit soll der Datensatz an archäomagnetischen Gesamtvektoren Mitteleuropas für die letzten 3500 Jahre von 1 bis 2 Werten pro Jahrhundert auf etwa fünf Werte pro Jahrhundert vergrößert werden.

Dieses Ziel soll mit Hilfe einer neuen Paläointensitätsmethode erreicht werden, die zunächst getestet werden soll. Der angestrebte große Datensatz an archäomagnetischen Gesamtvektoren wird die Datenbasis für ein verbessertes Modell des Erdmagnetfeldes für die letzen 3500 Jahre liefern. 

In diesem Zeitintervall traten fünf archäomagnetische Jerks auf, die über schnelle Änderungen in der Bewegung des Richtungsvektors definiert sind. Zwischen 800 und 500 v. Chr. korreliert ein starker Anstieg der Archäointensität mit einem feuchteren und kälteren Klima in Mitteleuropa. Dies gilt auch für die erhöhten Archäointensitäten um 800 n. Chr. In beiden Zeitintervallen wird außerdem eine erhöhte 14C-Produktion beobachtet, die zu Plateaus in der 14C-Kalibrationskurve führt. Dies erhärtet Zusammenhänge zwischen dem Erdmagnetfeld und Prozessen in der Atmosphäre, die die Radionuklidproduktion oder Wolkenbildung steuern. Das Projekt wird eine wesentlich verbesserte Datenbasis für entsprechende globale Erdmagnetfeldmodelle liefern, um eventuelle Zusammenhänge zwischen Erdmagnetfeld, 14C-Produktion und Klima besser zu verstehen. 


FWF Logo

Das archäomagnetische Gesamtvektorfeld in Mitteleuropa
FWF Projekt P19370-N19 (2006 – 2010)

Hauptziel des Projekts war, die Hypothese einer möglichen Beziehung zwischen dem Verhalten des Erdmagnetfeldes und Klimaänderungen zu prüfen. Die Behauptung ist, dass während der letzten 3000 Jahre die Kurve der Säkularvariation (Änderung der Richtung und Intensität des Feldes auf Zeitskalen von Jahrzehnten bis Jahrhunderten) relativ schnelle Wechsel der Bewegung (Zacken) der Feldrichtung aufweist. Gestützt auf Einzeldaten der Intensität aus Frankreich und Syrien scheinen vier der Zacken mit Maxima der Intensität des Erdmagnetfeldes zu korrelieren. Dieses Phänomen heißt ‘archaeomagnetischer Jerk’ und es wurde eine Beziehung mit Vorstößen der Alpengletscher vermutet. Mechanismen für mögliche Verbindungen von Erdmagnetfeld und Klima werden sehr kontrovers diskutiert.

Poster Archäomagnetik (Schnepp, 2008)

Im Rahmen des Projekts kann durch die Untersuchung des gesamten Datensatzes der archäomagnetischen Richtungen gezeigt werden, dass fünf Zacken in den Säkularvariationskurven in ganz Europa in Zeitfenstern von jeweils einem Jahrhundert gleichzeitig auftreten. Es wurde dann ein Satz von archäomagnetischen Gesamtvektoren von archäologischen Fundstellen aus Österreich, Deutschland und Ostfrankreich gemessen. Dieser Datensatz überdeckt die vergangenen 3500 Jahre mit mindestens einem Intensitäts- und Richtungswert (gewonnen an demselben archäologischen Befund) pro Jahrhundert. Er beinhaltet auch Befunde in denen die Zacken in der Säkularvariation aufgezeichnet sind. Obwohl starke Änderungen der Archäointensität in den letzten 3500 Jahren auftreten, ist außer im 8. Jh. n. Chr. keine Korrelation zwischen hohen Intensitäten und den Zacken der Richtungskurven zu sehen. Im Gegenteil wurden sogar für die Zacke im 8. Jh. v. Chr. anormal niedrige Intensitäten gemessen. Es treten eigentlich nur zwei sehr ausgeprägte Intensitätsmaxima während des 5. Jh. v. Chr. und des 8. Jh. n. Chr. auf. Der starke Anstieg zwischen 800 bis 500 v. Chr. korreliert mit zunehmenden Niederschlägen und kälterem Klima in ganz Europa und dasselbe gilt für das Intensitätsmaximum, das bei etwa 800 n. Chr. liegt. In beiden Zeitintervallen wird außerdem ein Sinken der Produktionsrate des Radiokarbons verzeichnet, das zu langen Plateaus in der Radiokarbonkalibrationskurve führt. Folglich könnte die bestehende Beziehung zwischen Erdmagnetfeld und der Bildung von Radionukliden auch bei den Prozessen der Wolkenbildung in der hohen Atmosphäre eine Rolle spielen. Hier ist jedoch noch eine größere Datenbasis für verbesserte, globale Magnetfeldmodelle notwendig. 

Ein weiteres Resultat des Projekts ist eine Säkularvariationskurve, die den Zeitraum für archäomagnetische Datierungen in Mitteleuropa auf 3500 Jahre erweitert und ein neues Datierungswerkzeug für die Vorgeschichte zur Verfügung stellt, mit dem die Probleme der Radiokarbonplateaus für die späte Bronze- und vorrömische Eisenzeit überwunden werden können.


FWF Logo

Establishing archaeomagnetic dating in Austria
FWF Projekt M787-N11 (2004 – 2006)

Hauptziel des Projekts war eine Datenbasis für eine archäomagnetische Säkularvariationskurve Österreichs der vergangenen 4000 Jahre aufzubauen und auch Intensitätswerte für dieses Zeitintervall zu gewinnen.

Mit der im Projekt erstellten archäomagnetischen Kalibrationskurve für Österreich können archäomagnetische Datierungen in den letzten 2300 Jahren vorgenommen werden. Dieses Verfahren zur Datierung von  in situ Befunden, wie Öfen oder Feuerstellen steht nun für die Archäologie zur Verfügung.


AARCH Logo

AARCH: Archaeomagnetic Applications for the Rescue of Cultural Heritage (2003 - 2006)

Forschungsnetzwerk im Rahmen des EU-Mobilitätsprogrammes für junge Forscherinnen und Forscher

Partner:

  • Department of Archaeological Sciences, University of Bradford (GB)
  • Centre De Physique Du Globe De L'IRM, Dourbes (Belgien)
  • Geophysical Institute, Sofia, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences (Bulgarien)
  • Department of Earth Sciences, Geophysical Laboratory, University of Aarhus (Dänemark)
  • Laboratoire D'archeomagnetisme, Centre National De La Recherche Scientifique, Rennes (F)
  • Department of Geophysics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Griechenland)
  • Facultad De Cc.Fisicas, Universidad Complutense De Madrid (Spanien)
  • Geomagnetism Laboratory, University of Liverpool (GB)
  • Department of Geological Sciences, University of Plymouth (GB)
  • Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Universitá degli Studi di Torino (I)
  • Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra, Universitá degli Studi di Napoli (I)

Link zur Projekts-Homepage (Institut Royal Météorologique, Dourbes, Be)


Publikationen

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P., Hervé, G., Scholger, R., Mauritsch, H., Rolf, C. (in prep.) New archaeomagnetic data from Austria and G ermany 

Brüggler, M., Rehren, T., Schnepp, E., Hartkopf-Fröder, C. (in prep.)  A Late-Roman Glass Workshop near Goch-Asperden, Rhineland/Germany – Features and Analyses. 

Rolf, C., Hambach, U., Novothny, A., Horváth, E. & Schnepp, E. (2013): Dating of a Last Glacial loess sequence by relative geomagnetic palaeointensity: A case study from the Middle Danube Basin (Sütto, Hungary).
Quaternary International (in press)

Schnepp, E., (2011): Archäo-, Paläo- und Umweltmagnetik. In: Hans-Rudolf Bork/Harald Meller/Renate Gerlach, Umweltarchäologie - Naturkatastrophen und Umweltwandel im archäologischen Befund. 3. Mitteldeutscher Archäologentag vom 07. bis 09. Oktober 2010 in Halle (Saale). Tagungen des Landesmuseum für Vorgeschichte Halle, 6, Landesamt für Denkmalpflege und Archäologie Sachsen-Anhalt , Halle (Saale), 57-69. 

Hervé, G., Schnepp, E., Chauvin, A., Lanos, P., Nowaczyk, N. (2011): Archeomagnetic results on three First Iron Age salt-kilns from Moyenvic (France).
Geophysical Journal International, 185, 144–156

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P., Chauvin, A. (2009): Geomagnetic paleointensity between 1300 and 1750 A.D. derived from a bread oven floor sequence in Lübeck, Germany.
Geochemistry Geophysics Geosystems, 10, p. Q08003 (open access)

Aidona, E., Scholger, R., Mauritsch, H.J., Perraki, M. (2008): Remanence aquisition in a Roman-style gold furnace. 
Phys. Chem. Earth, 33, 438-448

Hambach, U., Rolf, C., Schnepp, E. (2008): Magnetic Dating of Quaternary Sediments, volcanites and archaeological Materials: an overview. 
Eiszeitalter und Gegenwart (Quaternary Science Journal), 57, 25-51
 

Singer, B.S., Hoffman, K.A., Schnepp, E., Guillou H. (2008): Multiple Brunhes Chron Excursions Recorded in the West Eifel (Germany) Volcanics: Support for Long-Held Mantle Control Over the Non-Axial Dipole Field.
Phys.  Earth Planet. Int., 169, 28-40 .

Trapanese A.,  Batt C. M., Schnepp E. (2008): Sampling and orientation methods in archaeomagnetic dating: a comparison using case studies from Wörterberg, Eisenerz   and Gams Valley (Austria).
Phys.  Chem. Earth, 33, 414-426  

Schnepp, E., Worm, K. and Scholger, R. (2008): Improved sampling techniques for baked clay and soft sediments.
Phys. Chem. Earth, 33, 407-413
 

Schnepp, E. (2007): Archäomagnetische Datierung in Deutschland und Österreich.
Archäologisches Korrespondenzblatt, 37, 2, 313-320 

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P. (2006): A preliminary secular variation reference curve for archaeomagnetic dating in Austria.
Geophys.  J. Int., 166, 91–96  

Aidona, E., Scholger, R., Mauritsch, H. J., Schnepp E., Klemm, S. (2006): Spatial distribution of archaeomagnetic vectors within archaeological samples from Eisenerz (Austria).
Geophys.  J. Int. 166, 46–58  

Schnepp, E., Lanos, P. (2005): Archaeomagnetic secular variation in Germany during the past 2500 years.
Geophys.   J. Int, 163, 479–490  

Lanos, P., Le Goff, M., Kovacheva, M., Schnepp, E. (2005): Hierarchical modelling of archaeomagnetic data and curve estimation by moving average technique.
Geophys.   J. Int., 160, 440-476  

Korte, M., Genevey, A., Constable, C., Frank, U., Schnepp E. (2005): Continuous geomagnetic field models for the past 7 millennia I: A new global data compilation.
Geochem. Geophys. Geosyst., 6(2): 1-32, Q02H15 

Schnepp, E., Pucher, R., Reinders, J., Hambach, U., Soffel, H.C. und Hedley, I. (2004): A German catalogue of archaeomagnetic data.
Geophys.   J. Int., 157, 64-78  

Schnepp, E., Pucher R., Goedicke, C., Manzano, A., Müller, U., Lanos, P. (2003): Paleomagnetic directions and TL dating from a bread oven-floor sequence in Lübeck (Germany): A record of 450 years of geomagnetic secular variation.
J. Geophys.  Res., 108, B2, 2078